Uncategorized

What’s In A Name?

The most common question I get asked, often regards my name, so here’s an explanation as to why it is what it is.

Firstly, no, Aura Borealis is not my real name. Although it doesn’t take genius to figure that out, people still ask me. When I first began writing, I knew I had to come up with a pen-name because very few people can say my real name correctly. Even people I’ve known for years can’t say it right. No kidding.

Secondly, being that I am a blogger & put myself out on the Internet, I did not want to use my real name for security reasons.

As for why I chose the name Aura, well, if you don’t know, Aurora Borealis is Latin for Northern Lights.

Here’s a description brought to you by the wonderful people at the Northern Lights Center.

“The bright dancing lights of the aurora are actually collisions between electrically charged particles from the sun that enter the earth’s atmosphere. The lights are seen above the magnetic poles of the northern and southern hemispheres.

Auroral displays appear in many colors although pale green and pink are the most common. Shades of red, yellow, green, blue, and violet have been reported. The lights appear in many forms from patches or scattered clouds of light to streamers, arcs, rippling curtains or shooting rays that light up the sky with an eerie glow.”

I’m just fascinated by them so I shortened the Aurora  to Aura and that was it, I got my pen-name. At the point at which I started writing back in 2010, I was solely focused on YA fantasy, so I just felt it would be a good fit.

When I began writing Erotic fiction last year, I knew I had to use a different name again for branding reasons, so I chose Lola Pulse.

I didn’t want to write erotic & YA fiction under the same name. If you are a multi-genre author, I would actually advise you do the same.

So there you have it.

Love you all.

Aura x

Leave a Reply

